For some time now there has been a logo in the right column on this site for the Barefoot Runners Society.  Some of you may have clicked that link curious to see what it’s about, and some of you might not have noticed it at all.  The Barefoot Runners Society is an up and coming organization that any barefoot or minimalist runner should know about and be a part of.

The BRS is a not for profit organization formed to “Change the running world one odd look at a time” and is in the early stages of growth and development.  There are a few groups out there working to promote and advocate the barefoot lifestyle, and the BRS is no different.  I’ve been a member for a while now, having been granted membership during the beta testing phases of the website, and I love the atmosphere and direction.

The BRS has a very clear and simple mission:

  • To offer resources that unite barefoot runners from around the country.
  • To promote barefoot and minimalist running around the country and at race events as a competitive sport.
  • To educate the running public on the health benefits of barefoot and minimalist running.
  • To dispel the myths associated with barefoot running that negatively impact the sport.

These are all things I can and did get behind.  The BRS is a fast growing group, and I expect it to soon be the largest barefoot/minimalist organization on the planet, if it’s not already.  The people I have met through the BRS are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable in the world of running.

I have been so impressed with the organization that I have accepted two positions with them.  The first is President of the Texas Chapter, which I am extremely proud of.  The second is that of Advertising/Marketing Rep. and both of these keep me busy at times, but I enjoy it because I know it’s going to something great.

As an organization there are lots of things in the works; partnerships with races, other organizations, running clinics, group runs, and meet ups are just a few of the things that I have already seen happen within the BRS.

If you are interested in membership (it’s free by the way) I urge you to go the site and sign up.  The website is in the final stages of testing and will go public in the near future, but in the meantime you can still head on over and fill out a short form to join up for your state’s chapter.  If you are not in the U.S., that is okay too, as we already have members from all over the world, and I would not be surprised if there were chapters all over the world sometime soon.

If you are a runner in Texas and you are interested either go sign up or contact me for more information.  I would love to have you be a part of our chapter!  If you are interested in advertising, cross promotions, or partnerships with the BRS in any way please feel free to contact me as I would love to talk to you as well.

So get over there, sign up, and be a part of something great.  I’ll be looking for you!

3 responses »

  1. Duncan says:

    Congrats on the role with BRS, Jimmy. Looks like a great organization. We’ve signed up here on Vancouver Island. One question for you. Are we permitted to add the BRS logo to a blog, any special permissions required? Seems like a good idea to get the word out that way. D.

  2. Duncan says:

    Many thanks for the info, Jimmy. Duncan.

Leave a Reply

