I get asked about nutrition almost daily.  I get asked about supplements almost that much.  I then get asked about those things in relation to running.  I give anyone who asks an honest answer based on what I know.  I do not consider myself an expert in nutrition, but I am what some might call well educated.  I carry two nutrition certifications and one sports supplementation certification in my educational background.  I have taken supplements and recommended them for a little over a decade now with some great results, and I have also been tricked by some good old-fashioned snake oil type products as well.  Still, the sports supplement industry is a billion dollar business with more products than most people can keep track of.  So how do you know what to take?  How do you know which ones actually work?  The answer is it pays to know someone who knows about this stuff.  In this case that would be me, and today’s topic is Herbalife.

Nearly a year ago a friend and fellow trainer, Sam Jang, presented me with a challenge.  Sam is one of the most intelligent people I know when it comes to the human body.  He has centered his life’s efforts around knowing how the human body works and how to make it better on all levels.  Sam’s studies range from Eastern homeopathic medicine to Muscle Activation Therapy and just about everything in between.  I trust what Sam says when he says something, but when he told me I needed to take a look at Herbalife, I put him off.  I put him off, and I put him off again, as I knew what Herbalife was.  It was just another of those multi-level marketing things where people try and sell you overly priced sub-par products to try and make money.  The funny thing about that last sentence is this really is not much different than the average supplement store, but they have a building with products in it, and most Herbalife distributors sell this stuff out of their homes so how reputable can this stuff be?  The answer to that question is very reputable, but we’ll get to that in a minute.

Sam was persistent in his efforts to get me to try these Herbalife products, and to be very honest I only agreed to meet up with him because of two things.  One, Sam is a good and respected friend so I felt I at least owed him some of my time.  Two, he invited me to a nutrition club where I could sample some products and hear him out.  A store location meant this stuff had to have some legitimacy, right?  I met with Sam, and he gave me a meal shake, some herbal aloe, and herbal tea, which were all Herbalife products.  I drank them all, and they all tasted really good, which is very nice if you’re a supplement taker because some of the stuff out there can be a rough go in terms of flavor.  I also listened to Sam break down some of the finer points of Herbalife as a company and their mission.  He told me how the company has been around for 30 years, making it easily one of the oldest nutritional supplement companies out there.  He rattled off all kinds of stats and numbers about the company, but he caught my attention with something I found very interesting.  All Herbalife products undergo testing to meet the highest level of FDA regulations.  “All right Sam; I’m listening”.  He also started to tell me about the Nutrition Advisory Board that Herbalife employs, and I was sold.  This board is comprised of Nobel Prize winners, the head of the National Cancer Institute, and many other leaders in their fields.  The best of the best sit in labs and create, test, and retest these products.

I like a company that is scientifically sound, but I love a company that backs up that science with the best minds in the world even more.  I told Sam I liked what he was telling me, and I wanted to try some stuff and wanted to know prices.  Sam, being the great guy he is, said not to worry about it and sent me home with a month’s worth of stuff to try so that I could see for myself how they worked.  It took me one week to realize this stuff was no joke and that I would never need to go to a supplement store again.  I supplemented meals with their meal shakes, I took their multi-vitamin, the twenty-one day cleanse, and a product called cell activator.  During that week I felt and saw noticeable changes in the way my body worked.  My digestive system worked smoother and felt better than I can ever remember.  My energy levels shot through the roof, which if you know me is saying a lot, as I am a very energetic person naturally.  I do not take any kind of energy anything.  No pills or drinks, not even coffee.  I have a hard enough time sitting still as it is, not from ADHD or anything like that, but just because I am a high-energy person. Yet after a week this stuff had me feeling like I had even more.  I have never had such fast and noticeable results taking any nutritional supplement in my life.  I can honestly say that I believe Herbalife does what it claims to, and that is make products that work.

After taking the twenty-one day cleanse and using the cell activator, a product that works to clean and reestablish the function of the villi in the digestive tract, I no longer have adverse reactions to dairy products!  Yes, you read that right.  For years when I ate dairy products I had an allergic reaction that caused my throat to close, making it hard to breathe, and it was scary.  Today I can eat ice cream any time I want and not have any problems.  I am amazed.  I could only use soy protein products because of this throat closing issue, but now I don’t have to worry about that.  Dairy-based whey protein products no longer have adverse effects on me.  It’s crazy, and I still have a hard time believing it.  I have had clients see better weight loss and muscle growth results using these products than ever before.  Trust me, I don’t want to openly admit that one!

So did I just spend a post on my site trying to sell you Herbalife products?  No, my goal here is to try and put out a mass answer to a common question I get.  I get emails on a daily basis asking me about this type of stuff and what I recommend, and my answer is I recommend Herbalife.  I personally take these products, and I use them with all my clients, and I have never been happier with a product in the area of sports supplements because these products changed my life. You may have noticed the Herbalife logo over there in the right column, and that is a link to an online store that I started to make it easy for my clients to get these products.  I do not spend my days hunting people down to try and make a lot of money off of this company.  I opened the online store so that I don’t have to worry about doing any of that.  I want there to be an easy way for anyone who wants them to get them, and the logo over there can lead you to that information.

If you have specific questions about nutrition then I still want you to send them my way, as I always enjoy hearing from you guys, and I will always answer back with any and all information I have.  I thoroughly enjoy hearing from all of you out there, and I’m curious to hear what you think on this subject.  It can be a touchy one so let me know how you feel or what your thoughts are, and if you want to know more let me know.

9 responses »

  1. Herbalife products helped me lose 25 pounds and I feel better than in a long time. Great post!

  2. Sreedevi Konnalli says:

    Hi,

    Greetings. I want to gain wight as I am underweight by 15 kilos. Please advise me if Herbalife products can be of some help to me. Also advise which Herbalife products I should be taking and for how long.

    Thanks,

    • I think you could definitely get some boost from Herbalife products. I would recommend the Formula shake added into your diet as a snack between meals probably once a day depending on how many calories you need. It will give you the same amount of nurtients that a full meal would but in liquid form and with cleaner calories. Again this all depends on how many calories you need in order to maintain your weight as it is. Once you have that established then you can add calories as needed to be able to gain the weight you are looking for instead of adding a bunch of water or fat.

  3. […] Product Review: Herbalife's Products Have Changed My Life « go … […]

  4. Herbalife products help me to lose 15Kg in 3 months. The energy is so good, and i tell the world and wich it is all over, for all to use.
    Thanks Gerhard

  5. mary Ellen Miller says:

    I want to know who seals the product in my area 95965 ?

    • I do not personally know who would be in your area. I believe you can find that info by visiting the Herbalife website and asking for more information which will automatically connect you to someone in your area.

  6. Awesome site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of
    any message boards that cover the same topics talked
    about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get opinions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

